Student Profile: Joey

We are starting a series on graduating seniors that have spent a great deal of time in the shop.  Some of these students have spent what equals 7-9 class periods in this class and have done amazing things and grown tremendously.  These students exemplify the ideals of this program and I get sad every year that I lose these students.

  • What made you want to join this class?

A guy came around to the middle schools when we were choosing schools and I heard about the shop class.

  • How long have you been taking manufacturing classes?

4 years, two class periods each year

  • What types of projects have you done over the last few years?

Welding car parts and metal sculptures

  • What are your plans for the next few years?

Find a manufacturing job.  I am also looking into metallurgy at EVCC.

  • How has this class prepared you for your future?

This class taught me everything I need to know to prepare me for my plans.

  • What has been your favorite part of being in this class?

I like the metal working equipment.  The freedom to choose specialties.

  • If you had one more year in the shop, what would you make or learn?

I would want to learn and spend some time on the CNC machine.

  • Do you have any advice for our younger shop students?

This is a great place to get training and skills for jobs.

Here is a selection of Joey’s work

Leave a Reply

