Graduate Profile: Dylan

This is a weird one.  A student stopped by that was a former student, but he graduated from our school prior to my time as the shop teacher.  I decided I wanted to interview him anyways.  He is still part of the Arts and Tech family.  This will be sharing info about the program from years ago.  Thanks for stopping by Dylan.

  • When did you graduate from Arts and Tech?

2009

  • How long did you take manufacturing classes here?

5 years, or 5 class periods.  I got to take this class as an 8th grader. I also went to Sno-Isle for welding in 11th and 12th grade.

  • What types of projects did you do when you were here?

Lots of wood lathe projects.  I worked on a redwood table.  Some welding, but I focused on that at Sno-Isle.

  • Now that you have graduated, what are you doing?

I am building tug boats down in Ballard.  I am welding.  Mostly old school Arc welding.  I went to EVCC as well.

  • How did this program and school prepare you for your future?

It really opened up my mind to what I could really do.

  • What was your favorite part of being in this program/school?

Coming to shop.  I had Mr. Fitzpatrick.  He was always keyed into your projects and how he could help you in any way.  He was a great teacher.

  • What changes do you see as you look around the shop?

A lot of software and technology changes.  Lots of new equipment.  It felt like the same old shop, but updated to be modern.

  • If you had one more year in the shop, what would you make or learn?

CNC plasma and CNC routing.

  • Do you have any advice for our younger shop students?

Do what feels right.  Find what you like to do and you will never work a day in your life.

I don’t have any pictures of Dylan’s work other than the reason he stopped by.  He saw his sculpture he made in high school and wanted to come and visit.  So here is the penguin he made both here at Arts and Tech and at Sno-Isle.

12328461_550293495134192_1420439263_n

 

 

Leave a Reply

